Bible Passages

Alright; before I begin, please check out Habakkuk 8 v 17-19.

Checked it out? Cool huh?

A few years ago, I read a quote that a friend of mine wrote. It went “Though the fig tree does not blossom and there is no fruit on the vines, though the product of the olive fails and the fields yield no food, though the flock is cut off from the fold and there are no cattle in the stalls. Yet will I rejoice in the Lord; I will exult in the victorious God of my salvation! The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk] and make progress upon my high places [of trouble, suffering or responsibility]!

– Habakkuk 8 v 17-19.”

And I fell in love with that passage and decided that it had to be my favorite bible passage. Today, my girlfriend asked me what my favorite passage was and I sent her to go read it, and the next thing it’s “Panda, Habakkuk 8 doesn’t exist”.

I was shocked.

For those of you who didn’t actually open a bible and were gonna form agreeing that Habakkuk 8 v 17-19 is a cool passage, well… God help you all.

Anyways, after looking around in utter confusion, I finally found out that the passage did exist, but it was actually Habakkuk chapter 3 not chapter 8.

This appalled me for a few reasons:

  1. I had been staking my “favorite bible passage” belief in something that, for all intents and purposes, did not actually exist.
  2. I had never actually opened my bible to see for myself, but I had accepted its truth without asking a single question.

All of this reminded me about the way the average Nigerian is; always willing to accept things without question. As long as the words he’s hearing or listening to will give some form of release from fear, unquestioning acceptance is always possible.

For a long time, I’ve always been against unquestioning acceptance. Just because a person says something is so, doesn’t mean it should be taken at face value. Ask questions; try to see things for yourself. Yes, you should learn from other peoples’ mistakes, but sometimes, people call things mistakes when they have never experienced them, and some of those things they actually did experience were completely necessary in order for them to become the persons they did become.

One thing that scares me is when I hear people say things, and it’s quite obvious that they don’t know what they’re talking about. Then when you ask how they got their info, it’s “so & so told me so.” Is it so hard to simply find things out for yourself?

I don’t know… I guess maybe it is. I guess maybe I’m just kicking myself in the ass because I realize now that calling a passage my favorite when I never actually took the time to open up a bible to see for myself, shows the level of my unseriousness and that I basically do not have a favorite bible passage.

But whatever it is, I am more resolute on this than ever before; never believe things just because somebody that you respect or is in a position of authority over you says it’s so. Take out the time to ask questions and to see for yourself. Or else, one day you’ll wake up and find out that you’ve believed a lie for ages… and that isn’t fun. That I can honestly say.

About The Capoeira Panda

Panda makes his home in the world of words and metaphors. In the hopes to be more than just a confused blogger, he currently works as the editor for an ecommerce company that was good enough to hire him, and lives with his flat mates & two imaginary dogs who get along just fine. He enjoys reading good books, writing, relaxing with his friends, & poking fun at his mother over the phone. When he's not doing any of these, he sometimes sits back and wonders why anyone expects to learn anything useful about him by reading this bio. View all posts by The Capoeira Panda

6 responses to “Bible Passages

  • CeeJay John Nweke

    LOL! As I was reading, I realized – wait! Its habakkuk 3, not 8! Lol…Bt That’s also one of my fave scriptures tho. I remember when the HolySpirit pointed it out to me during one service. I was almost under water in my life, then I read that, and phew! The relief of knowing it’ll all be good – plus I’d get some speed and move faster than I had imagined! (The hind’s feet part).
    Cool stuff.

  • @Qurr

    LOOOL! When I saw Habakkuk 8 I was like Huh??? It doesn’t exist! Then I read the rest of the article and I figured out what you were doing. Lol.

    You are right, man. Many times we want to fit right in, so we just take whatever we hear without double checking and having an opinion for ourselves. It’s the plague of this age 😦

  • 0latoxic

    One of my favourite quotes is “Experience is the best teacher… but who said it hadto be YOUR experience” -the great OlaTokunbo 😉
    You most certainly make a really good point though. One I plan to keep in mind henceforth.
    Lesson learned *bows*….

  • Sir Fariku

    Lol! you got me there.
    It is indeed a serious problem we have here in Nigeria that people dont question things. A place this is most evident is in religious settings, people follow what the clergy say like zombies, neither questioning or challenging things they arent sure of. In fact they propagate such messages.

    Good post, we should learn to question things we are encounter in our daily lives, that why we have brains.

  • Chinelonma

    We are used to being “spoon-fed” right from school and this makes us too lazy to get info ourselves… in school I had lecturers who’d “fail” you if you didnt give them your answer the way it was given to you in class *smh* let me just say I agree with you a person should be a tad curious enough to want to do some research… thank you

  • @FoluShaw

    I like.

    Always had the same thots.

    F.

Leave a Reply

