Random Reflections

Reflections…

I haven’t done any posts of that nature in a while.

First of all, I really should say that Twitter is of the devil. Why? Well, I’ve noticed that when an idea hits my head and I want to write about it, I tweet about it instead. Maybe that’s one of the reasons I’ve been so… blocked recently.

Moving on.

I’m a great lover of fantasy novels. One of my favorite authors is a cat owning woman named Tamora Pierce (her owning cats really has nothing to do with this. I just decided to add that there for a little extra flourish).

Anyways, my favorite books by Tamora are the “Daughter of the Lioness” duet; two amazing books called “Trickster’s Choice” & “Trickster’s Queen”.

I’m deviating. You’re probably waiting for me to get to the point.

In the second book, Trickster’s Queen, some little boys die. Two of those boys are royalty (one of them – Dunevon – is king and the other – Elsren – is next in line for the throne after him), and their death is necessary so that a revolution can be carried out and a queen can be placed on the throne. This is necessary so that a god (the Trickster god Kyprioth to be precise) can get back all the power he used to have. In fact, the death of the boys was all part of Kyprioth’s scheme.

Somewhere along the line, Kyprioth’s human champion (who was close friends with Elsren), realizes that those lives meant absolutely nothing to the god, and she says to him, “I’m truly sorry you cannot grieve for them. You don’t know what you miss.”

What is the point of this entire story I’ve made you read? I’m not so sure.

A lot of people have been dying lately. Both young and old. It gets really tiring after a while. The pain, the condolences, the grieving… the grieving that follows after. But everyone dies don’t they? Every good thing will come to an end. It’s funny; I just realized that relationships are like human beings. They exist, they’re good and all, and sometimes, they die. And when they do, people come about and ask what happened. How it died, and all that stuff… and then you go through the pain that comes with that sense of loss… and then you grieve/mourn… and then sooner or later, you move on with your life.

Very silly way of looking at it.

But it brings to mind something that someone said about ended relationships; “You don’t forget; you move on.” I’ve been arguing about the accuracy of this statement, right until this point when I read through what I wrote above. If I’m going to compare an ended relationship with the death of a human being, then it makes sense. You don’t ever want to forget about a person who you cared about when they died, but you do want to be able to move on from all the grief in your soul.

So I guess the person is right. Yes, I know you’re reading this. You’re right. My being in repair doesn’t mean I’m going to forget about it, it just means it’ll stop hurting. And as for you, I know. I will be laughing about it soon enough. And we’ll both look at our lives and shake our heads in amusement…

Two different people that know who they are so… never mind me please.

Now I think I understand why I was telling you about The Daughter of the Lioness books. I’m becoming like Kyprioth. No, not that I’m losing all compassion for humanity or that I would kill people to achieve my means without even grieving for them at all. Look at my analogy about how a relationship is like a human life.

In this regard, I’m both glad and sorry for myself. But I’m left without a choice. I’ve been driven here, and well… *sigh*

Don’t get it? No worries. I know one person for sure that will…

I haven’t done a “Morning’s Musings” in so long… maybe because I never have my mornings to myself… it’s all, up at 6am, drive to Yaba and then to training and then off to work… I should find a way to trap the things I think about early in the day and write them down.

I owe Moyin and y’all a poem/story/something of the sort… I need good internet so I can look into the little bit of information I need…

Ah well, it’ll be aight somehow or the other…

About The Capoeira Panda

Panda makes his home in the world of words and metaphors. In the hopes to be more than just a confused blogger, he currently works as the editor for an ecommerce company that was good enough to hire him, and lives with his flat mates & two imaginary dogs who get along just fine. He enjoys reading good books, writing, relaxing with his friends, & poking fun at his mother over the phone. When he's not doing any of these, he sometimes sits back and wonders why anyone expects to learn anything useful about him by reading this bio. View all posts by The Capoeira Panda

2 responses to “Random Reflections

  • Nerdy

    all I can say is I’m glad you’re gradually returning!

  • Name.

    Hey Panda.
    I remember this is d blog that taught us abt P setting. This blog used to b d ish den. Dude, wake up n do something to bring ur blog back to life. If I didn’t believe u can do it, I’ll av ‘unbookmarked’ u a long time ago. Do something, whatever…just make sure I get somt’n toh kwality to read frm dis space b4 wkend.

Leave a Reply

