Waiting on Never to Happen

Hey y’all!

First off; Happy Eid el-Kabir to the Muslim fam that read my blog. I’m waiting for y’all to bring my ram over o! Don’t dull me! I hope everyone’s enjoying this long ass weekend we’re having and all.

So I put up a post on Saturday called “[Not] Yours Truly” (if you’re carrying last on that, please click here) and it got a lot of good reviews. I’m glad y’all like it, and I may be trying out that writing style more often.

Anyways, after that post, I got into discussions with some people, and one of the things that stuck out was that, most people would never come out and tell the person they’re setting P with, that there was no hope for them. More likely, they would probably keep giving them hope and letting them think they’re willing but just not able to get into a relationship with them. More than likely, the person who’s been hoped upon would probably still have a significant other, and be telling the person who’s hoping, that (s)he just can’t make up his/her mind.

I’m still not sure how that works, I haven’t been through that, where I’m letting anyone choose between me & someone else. It’s either me or nothing. But, listening to Adele’s “Best For Last”, I realized it’s more widespread than I thought. So, I asked my darling Moyin to write a poem, putting the feelings of a person who’s being kept on a string out there. Here’s what she came up with. I hope y’all like it.

Dashed Hopes

Hope deferred makes the heart sick…” – Proverbs 13:12

I’m tired of waiting
It’s been 525,600 fucking minutes
Waiting…hoping
That maybe it would be me
Maybe your list would change
And somehow I’d top it
Waiting for that ‘soon’
The soon you promised me
The soon your lips spoke to me
When they glided ever so softly
Over my lips, my mountains, my mound
The soon your fingers spoke when they
Stirred up things I didn’t know I was capable of feeling
Soon.
Waiting for the time when you recover
From the heartbreak and want
And see that what you’ve been looking for
Has been here…
In me.
Waiting, hoping, praying, longing, pining, crying
Oh the pain, the anguish, the hurt, the tears I cry but they don’t show
Waiting. Waiting for that day,
When that smile…
That smile was because of me,
Your eyes linger on me a bit longer.
And I understand that every emotion
Every frigging emotion you feel was put there/ controlled by me
I’m tired of waiting
Waiting for our own ‘happily’
Waiting for you to make a decision
Tired of waiting for you to make up your mind
Do you want her or me?
Tired of this cycle where
She breaks your heart you come running to me
I’m not your fucking shrink
I’m just someone who genuinely cares about you
And wants to share your life
Can the waiting end?
Will it end?
Will you stop playing with my heart?
Kicking it like the dusty old football?
Because I’m done waiting
I’m fucking done waiting…
Fuck you!
So, what y’all think of this situation? Leave your sensible, and not so sensible comments in the box below. 🙂
About The Capoeira Panda

Panda makes his home in the world of words and metaphors. In the hopes to be more than just a confused blogger, he currently works as the editor for an ecommerce company that was good enough to hire him, and lives with his flat mates & two imaginary dogs who get along just fine. He enjoys reading good books, writing, relaxing with his friends, & poking fun at his mother over the phone. When he's not doing any of these, he sometimes sits back and wonders why anyone expects to learn anything useful about him by reading this bio. View all posts by The Capoeira Panda

38 responses to “Waiting on Never to Happen

  • BelleReveur

    Awwww….:’-(…..

  • BelleReveur

    It’s really sad when guys just won’t be honest and tell you in no uncertain terms…that what you want ( a relationship) won’t be given to you…the truth hurts, but any sensible woman would rather be hurt by the truth and get over it eventually, than be comforted by lies and led into building castles in the air….

  • cecenostockings

    I ♥ the poem. So sad. So so sad. Been there. Except my cases are almost always much much worse

  • AdeolaE

    Well, I guess it’s because most ladies tend to assume. If he wants you, HE WILL ASK YOU OUT! #JustSaying. Oh! I love the poem by the way 😀

  • @Ms_BeeA

    ( -̩̩̩͡˛ -̩̩̩͡ )
    So sad. Love the poem!

    Waiting for never to happen must be a painful place to be but fortunately, I can’t relate. The truth from the onset is always better because most times ‘never’ never happens.

  • @olufems

    but women do it as well, let’s stop blaming guys abeg….lovely poem though!

  • phantompages

    the woman is daft as far as I’m concerned. That is all. I love the poem, well told. Sad that its just a true depiction of what really happens. Babes need to be sharper jare. You’re in love with someone who’s with someone else? You’re a sidechic! You get the crumbs you’re offered without complaints because you have chosen to put yourself in that situation. No pity whatsoever.

  • Kanyinsola

    *sigh… This I can totally relate to BUT thank goodness the waiting’s over and I’ve moved on with my life. 🙂

  • La Comtesse

    Oooooh I like this! Poignant, yet succinct. The poem that is. Very impressed, Moyin(whoever you are haha). And good on you too, Panda 🙂

  • @Wumie

    awwwww ‘i’m not ur fucking shrink’……sad but true, this happens…awesome poem!

  • docmuffy

    Oh… So this is what a blog looks like… This is what yall come here to do… Cooool. I like the poem, it managed to make me feel a lil more depressed.. But that’s me, I have a few connections that need rewiring. Ok enough about me…is This actuallyy a girls only type thingy? Hope I’m not crashing in on a feminist party oo.. I can see the sultryy mama has been here already…. Yyababdayabidi yooo…. Blah blah blah… Comment comment comment. I sincerelyy hope I have been able to convince and not confuse you,esteemed readers,panel of judges, my ever accurate timekeeper, and myy psychiatrist,(thatll be me in 2nd person,mpd)that doggystyle is better than missionary… Or what was the debate about again? (Imaginary standing ovation rings out loud in the mentum)

  • GenesisMyNameIz

    Sigh. It’s never as it seems with these things. You meet someone who you’ve always clicked with and secretly liked online in reality. 2 or 3 dates later , you both feel like you’d die without each other. And then the one person you’ve been waiting for in real life makes a re-entrance in your life at that instant. Now you’re sprung. Can anybody be labelled a side chic/dude in this hypothetical situation? No. Very fickle and fucking delicate, this thing we call a heart. Nice Poem tho. 😀

  • rebellefleurr

    Love this post and the prior one as well. The truth is guys/gals r both guilty of stringing people along. We call it back up plan. Just incase sometin goes wrong wiv our current rship den we av a ready made replacement. Iv been at both ends of d coin, iv strung pple along n pple av strung me along. I think deep down,u know when u r being played 4 fool bt the good outweighs d bad so u persevere. N wen u r fed up,nobody will tell u b4 u carry ur legs n abandon dat situation.

  • iamsamsie

    I have no contribution …ok..wait.that’s like gatecrashing in on someone’s party and announcing your departure..o well ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

  • Temidayo

    *raise glass* to everyone most especially we ladies that hve hoped, wished, prayed, longed for, loved and had our love thrown back in our faces, we’ve searched for love in all the right places and found it in all the wrong places.Here’s to us and better luck at true love if it really does exists. *down’s a shot of vodka & lime*

  • Independent Observer

    Been a situation almost like this one before. It’s shit. At the end of the day, the best thing to say really is ‘fuck you’.

  • highlandblue

    We all have that person we can’t get from under our skin. I haven’t found mine yet. Maybe I have them, but was able to let them go.

  • highlandblue

    And is this the girl that Panda slept with in his previous poem? Is this her side of the story? :p

  • vixenpixie

    what i think abt this? it is what it is. an involuntary back up plan. its a hurtful place to be…

  • Smallie نفيسة (@Poisonous_Rat)

    okay the fact that this poem is written by a girl doesn’t mean that women are always the victims so I’ll just look at this post from a neutral stance. I’ve always found this whole waiting thing to be slightly irritating. I mean let’s face facts if theres nothing there why bother, “Que sera sera” ( whatever will be will be).

  • donsege

    😦 This reminds me of d oomf I never had. She waited on d kissin-out but it never happened. I feel sad for her sha

  • ibetapassmynebo

    Loool panda. . .we need to address this issue again
    Nice poem. .
    But we need to relate. .lol

  • jayajade

    I like……you can almost hear the rage……nice

  • Robirobi1

    Nice poem. Very poignant. But,at the risk of sounding judgmental,why should you put yourself through this deliberately? You know they’re with someone else and you still want to hang there? Makes no sense to me. Being the only one has enough drama already,so why would you want to play second fiddle?
    The important thing is to be happy,not to be in a relationship!

  • jejefresh

    Hmm, interesting comments. Sadly, most people won’t understand the feeling until they’ve been there and trust me, given the chance again, your comments will totally be the opposite. Nevertheless, I’ve never been one to; be with a man when I know he has anoda chick (it’s a turn off) or wait on a guy to choose between me and another babe, hell! I’m not a supplimentary commodity! But I guess, it takes personal dicipline, a great deal of self worth and a measure of ego to realise you don’t need to wait on the shelf like a commodity for anyone. Let life go on, if along the line they decide that you’re the one they want to be with and you’re still down, cool…., but we should ‘consciously’ learn to live life on our own terms. #Moral of the story.

    Lovely piece, one I can relate to/with *smiles*. Well Moyin.

  • dera meka

    Its hard to be on the receiving end… But when this happens to u one too many times it hardens u and u turn out to be your own worst enemy. Shit like this can’t even happen to me, I’m too mean!

  • When Never Reverses « Thoughts From A Maverick's Perspective

    […] helped me out with a woman’s perspective when she’s been kept on tenterhooks (read that here). Today, Jibola was kind enough to put out this piece on what happens when the dude catches […]

  • Tori

    Very sad poem. But wonderfully written. Gladly, I’ve never been in this postion, I can’t be a side chick. But I know love makes fools outta pple, so I won’t judge. “I’m not your fucking shrink
    I’m just someone who genuinely cares about you…” this line moved me. I have frnds who’ve been there, n while I can never understand why som1 wud put themself thru the torture, I can’t judge. Love sucks. But don’t be a side chic. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

