Morning Reflections: On & On

07:05am

… listening to Erykah Badu’s “On & On”…

I’m probably meant to be getting dressed for work and all… but right now, Erykah’s voice is quite soothing…

“… if we were made in his image, then call us by our names. Most intellects do not believe in God but, they fear us just the same…”

Isn’t that a bit weird? I mean, it’s true isn’t it? A lot of people (me inclusive), ignore God and all his commandments, but then tailor their lives to fit into some category or the other because they actually give a damn about what regular people think. I’ve never understood that. I mean, if you’re not gonna care about God, why do we care about the average person?

Questions that keep me up at night. *chuckles*

For the last few years, I’ve struggled a bit with my relationship with God. I’ve wondered many times if He actually exists. I mean, there are so many arguments that rationally point to the concept of a god being simply mythological, that I started wavering… and it became difficult to believe. However, I came to the decision that, it’d be much better for me to live like there is a God, and then die and find out that there isn’t, than to live like there is no God, only to die and find out there is. No?
So yeah… I’m trying everyday to find God… to create a place for Him in my life again, instead of trying to do everything by myself. Cos well… I’ve learned the hard way, in recent times, that I’m totally incapable of doing things myself. Maybe I’ll find him in the Bible, or in the lyrics of a song, or in the eyes of my son… I dunno…

Cool story.

-Panda-

Posted from WordPress for Android

About The Capoeira Panda

Panda makes his home in the world of words and metaphors. In the hopes to be more than just a confused blogger, he currently works as the editor for an ecommerce company that was good enough to hire him, and lives with his flat mates & two imaginary dogs who get along just fine. He enjoys reading good books, writing, relaxing with his friends, & poking fun at his mother over the phone. When he's not doing any of these, he sometimes sits back and wonders why anyone expects to learn anything useful about him by reading this bio. View all posts by The Capoeira Panda

5 responses to “Morning Reflections: On & On

  • stuckinrehab

    Can I just say that I love that you’re doing this again?
    And having been where you are now, I mean wondering about God’s existence, the one thing that actually worked for me was asking him to let me know if he exists.
    I mean he’s the almighty, right? Letting me know he’s there is something really small. It worked for me!

  • jayajade

    “…..However, I came to the decision that, it’d be much better for me to live like there is a God, and then die and find out that there isn’t, than to live like there is no God, only to die and find out there is. No?.”
    I had read somewhere that C.S Lewis (writer behind The Chronicles of Narnia, The Screwtape letters, etc.) had made the same argument when he first began to trust God… he was a very logical man and so God was a tough concept for him to accept….. it’s an interesting parallel – both your lives…..i wish you even more success than he eventually garnered

  • deaduramilade

    I believe everyone goes through this place. Some come out better than others.

Leave a Reply

