Challenging Myself: Day Sixteen

*peeks*

[Ooh | De La Soul feat. Redman]

Okay, I’m starting to feel like this business of skipping one day and writing two posts is becoming a bad habit. But of course, I have an excuse this time as well; PHCN. Those annoying asshats have absolutely refused to give me light this weekend. As I write this post, I’m sitting in darkness in the room of my (soon-to-be-ex) flat. But anyways, it’s funny how people (such as myself) always find ways to make excuses for their lapses. “It was this, it was that”… “There was so much traffic I couldn’t…”, “Godzilla broke into my house wearing a ski mask and kidnapped my family”… or whatever other ridiculous excuse we can manage to rig up. It’s quite annoying I tell you. This is also why it pisses me off that I’m making excuses for posting a day late. But well… If you guys forgive me, who am I to not forgive myself? Huh? Huh? 😀

[Go | Common]

Okay, so… yesterday’s post…

#DaySixteen: Three Things I’m Proud of about My Personality

I hate writing down things like these. I feel awkward when people pay me extremely good compliments, so it’s really hard to say that there are things I’m proud of about myself. I’m currently (and have been for a while), fighting pride/arrogance. A lot of people look at me and think I’m cocky, but they have absolutely no idea how much worse I could be. I hate the fact that the idea that I’m better than anyone is in my head. I think everyone is equal when it comes right down to it, and the fact that you’ve been blessed with a little extra is just that; a blessing, not something to carry a chip on your shoulder about. So a lot of the time, I try not to give myself props for shit because… well… I didn’t make myself.

But, if I have to write about it, then I’d say that the first thing about my personality I’m proud of, is the fact that I’m not averse to self analysis. One of my favorite quotes is the famous “above all else, to thy own self be true.” I’m usually able to look at myself without emotion and tell myself the truth. Good, bad, painful or easy. If it’s something I have to do in order to move forward, I won’t spare myself the comfort of self deceit. It’s an absolute waste of time and also, quite bad for me.

[No Diggity | Blackstreet feat. Dr. Dre & MC Lite]

Next, would have to be the fact that I keep a calm head, a little more than most. I’m not saying that there’s nothing at all that ruffles my fur, but then, I manage to keep calm and do what I have to (see what I did there?), before things get out of hand. It’s also probably why a lot of people think I’m a good leader. I really don’t understand it; I’m just another dude trying to get by. But hey, what can I say? It is what it is.

Third would have to be honesty. I try myself to be true to everyone that I come across. I wouldn’t like to be lied to, so I treat people with the same consideration. Even when it’s hard on me, I still just go out on a limb and tell the truth. I wish I could say that it’s always easy, or that it doesn’t get me into trouble. I’ve gotten people pissed, I’ve seen women cry, but hey… I used to say that I don’t have the strength to lie to people, but Reptile says I should stop saying that. According to him, we don’t grant ourselves the weakness necessary to lie to people when it matters. I don’t know what to say to that but… *shrugs*

Okay, so that’s it for Day 16. Day 17 soon to follow.

Peace!

-Panda-

About The Capoeira Panda

Panda makes his home in the world of words and metaphors. In the hopes to be more than just a confused blogger, he currently works as the editor for an ecommerce company that was good enough to hire him, and lives with his flat mates & two imaginary dogs who get along just fine. He enjoys reading good books, writing, relaxing with his friends, & poking fun at his mother over the phone. When he's not doing any of these, he sometimes sits back and wonders why anyone expects to learn anything useful about him by reading this bio. View all posts by The Capoeira Panda

One response to “Challenging Myself: Day Sixteen

Leave a Reply

