Challenging Myself: Day Twenty Two

*CoresOutApple*

Yeah, it’s a Friday night. I don’t like the whole Friday night clubbing thing, so I like to just chill at home, watch a movie and drink with the team. But… on a night such as this, where I’m chilling alone, I guess I’ll have to make do with my own company. Which as it so happens, I rather like.

*InitiatesFlightSequence*

#Day twenty two: Ten Things about Me People Don’t Really Expect

Wow, Day Twenty Two huh?

Hard to believe that I’ve made it this far, but apparently I have. So… let’s get on with it.

I’m not sure what things about me people don’t expect. I don’t understand how I’m supposed to know these things. But… let’s try.

Friendliness: I remember in 2007, I was voted Biggest Snob in this lesson I was going to. I barely spoke to anyone all through the time I was there. I’d just show up, pay attention and all that, and go straight home. I just couldn’t relate with them at all cos… I couldn’t. I would leave the lesson, go into unilag to chill with friends, and come back. But enough with the cool stories jare. I’m a friendly person. I know I may seem a bit reserved around people I don’t know/am not comfortable with, but hey… that’s normal no? I’m friendly. And if anyone disagrees, I’ll give ‘em a piece of my mind. Understand? K

Martial Arts & Flexibility: Okay, so a lot of people see “Capoeira” in “CapoeiraPanda”, and don’t really know what it means. I then have to go into an explanation about how it’s a martial art and all that. This is okay and all, but most people don’t believe it. I can’t say I blame them really. Four years ago I weighed 105kg, and I know if I wasn’t me, I’d find it hard to believe myself. And then when they see me playing… it’s always a lot of fun to see shock on faces when I flip, or kick or… whatever it is.

Singing: Most people see me or hear me, and don’t even believe that I can sing. I like to keep it that way sef. I have absolutely no idea why. Maybe I’m self-conscious, but well, I don’t care so much about what people think, and a lot of the time I’m proud enough to sing at the top of my lungs all day. But… *shrug*

Silence: Around people with whom I’m comfortable, I talk a lot. This is kinda hard to reconcile with my saying that a lot of people don’t think I’m a friendly person, but bear with me. Anyways, so around the people with whom I’m comfortable, seeing me silent is kinda odd, but it happens. I sometimes go into mood swings and just stay quiet for hours. *chuckle*… some days I don’t even expect it. It just happens sha.

Speech: Two days ago, my new boss was saying to me “you speak so well…” with slight shock in his voice. I’m not sure if he was surprised because I truly speak well, or because he’s just a pretentious douche who thinks he’s too good for Nigeria, but anyways, I’ve gotten compliments like this for years. It gets kinda annoying. I mean, because I’m big and black, am I meant to sound like a goat with socks stuffed between his gap teeth? Na wa oh…

Music: My taste in music is… eclectic. Some people say it’s good, but… *shrug*… I think I just like what I like. It’s good music. Isn’t everyone expected to like good music? Are there actually people out there who truly and honestly like Vic-O’s music? Are there? Is the world not truly coming to an end?

Am I ranting again? I’m sorry.

Intensity: Oomph. I stare shamelessly. But wait, that’s not the point. Anyways, I hear my stare’s hard to take sometimes. Like I’m trying to bore into the soul through that stare. My behavior as well can be rather intense. I like to go from being uncommitted about things to being in all the way. It’s in the way I write, talk… uhm, I think you get my point.

Abeg, I’ll stop here jare. I can’t think of anything else. I already feel like I’m washing myself with all this. I dey go sleep jare.

Day twenty two done. G’night y’all.

-Panda-

About The Capoeira Panda

Panda makes his home in the world of words and metaphors. In the hopes to be more than just a confused blogger, he currently works as the editor for an ecommerce company that was good enough to hire him, and lives with his flat mates & two imaginary dogs who get along just fine. He enjoys reading good books, writing, relaxing with his friends, & poking fun at his mother over the phone. When he's not doing any of these, he sometimes sits back and wonders why anyone expects to learn anything useful about him by reading this bio. View all posts by The Capoeira Panda

One response to “Challenging Myself: Day Twenty Two

Leave a Reply

