Challenging Myself: Day Twenty Six

“… only the strong will continue, I know you have it in you, ‘cos we’ve got a journey to go…” – Nas & Damian Marley

On this thirty day journey that I undertook, I’ve gone through twenty five days. Along the way, a lot of things happened, and I found myself not posting on time. However, I keep pushing forward, trying to make sure those posts get in no matter what, even if I have to post a day or two late. Neither exhaustion, PHCN, nor Godzilla wearing a ski-mask can stop me from finishing. On that note, I know it’s a day late, but here’s day twenty six.

Day Twenty Six: My Religious Beliefs

*singing* “I believe Jehovah Jireh… I believe in Heaven…”

It’s funny how, the first time I heard Frank Ocean’s “We All Try”, those were the first words that struck me. And, listening to the rest of the song, it felt like those were the most important things for him to let everyone know he believed in. He’s not perfect, but he believes in Jesus, and he’s trying.

I’m kinda the same way.

Over the years, I’ve seen the fire of belief in God that I possessed, become rather weak; up until I reached a bridge of many questions and I wasn’t sure anymore if I really believed in God. After a while, when I decided I wanted to come back, I became quite worried that He wouldn’t want me back, so I still stayed away. I had many qualms and reasons to be angry, but well… we all have our issues.

What’s the point of this cool story? I’m obviously digressing.

My religious beliefs, yes.

I was born into a Christian home. So for me, growing up, it wasn’t really something I had to think about. I was Christian by default. I believed in Jesus Christ and His legitimacy as the Son of God unequivocally. Of course, as I got older, I began to ask questions. I remember one day, this dude said to me “only God knows who’s serving him right. All we can do is hope that we’re right. Because at the end of the day, man is still man; fallible, and quite capable of leading themselves astray.”

I think he was right. But like I said a couple of posts ago, I realized that as right as he was, it’s much better to live like there is a God and find out that there isn’t, than to live like there isn’t, and find out that there is. As to why I’m a Christian… *sigh*… I’ve looked at other religions, and asked myself, “why not them? Why do I believe in Jesus? Why is He God to me?”

“Is Christ the Lord, you ask me? I say He can be, for He never taught anything Himself but love… If Christ is the Lord, then what a beautiful miracle it is. That the Lord Himself should come down to Earth and clothe Himself in flesh to better know us and comprehend us. Oh, what God, ever made in the image of Man and by His fancy, was ever better than one who would become flesh?” – Anne Rice

That’s what I believe.

Day Twenty Six, done

-Panda-

About The Capoeira Panda

Panda makes his home in the world of words and metaphors. In the hopes to be more than just a confused blogger, he currently works as the editor for an ecommerce company that was good enough to hire him, and lives with his flat mates & two imaginary dogs who get along just fine. He enjoys reading good books, writing, relaxing with his friends, & poking fun at his mother over the phone. When he's not doing any of these, he sometimes sits back and wonders why anyone expects to learn anything useful about him by reading this bio. View all posts by The Capoeira Panda

One response to “Challenging Myself: Day Twenty Six

  • coolprincee

    At a point in Man’s life he’ll be confronted with doubts by the thing he should believe in most..nice post. I like what U do with d music thing and ur choice of music is absolutely connoisseur..keep it rolling till day30

Leave a Reply

